Create Self-Enroll Group (creates a sign-up sheet)

 

Creating Groups by self-enroll gives the students the responsibility of enrolling into groups. Each group is given a sign-up sheet, and a set of instructions, where students must sign themselves up for a group.

Creating Self-Enroll Groups

With Edit Mode On

  1. From the control panel, on the bottom left side of the page, click on Users and Groups and then click on Groups.

Accessing Groups from the Control Panel

  1. Hover over either Create Single Group or Create Group Set and then click on Self-Enroll.

The Self Enroll button

  1. Type in a name and description for the group.
  2. Choose to make the group unavailable, available, or sign-up sheet only. By clicking on No the group will be unavailable in case the instructor needs to finish with the options before the students can see it. Yes will put up a sign-up sheet and students will be enrolled when they sign up. Sign-up Sheet Only means that there will just be a sign-up sheet and the instructor will need to “ok” the groups before the students are actually enrolled.
  3. Select if you want to grant students control of how the group page looks.
  4. Select a name for the sign-up sheet and instructions on how to sign up.
  5. Set a limit on the number of students allowed in each group. Select to show the names of students already signed up. Select where the sign-up sheet will be.
  6. The main difference between Create Single Group Self-Enroll and Create Group Set Self-Enroll is that the latter have Group Set Options. If you want to create identical groups, you just need to set how many groups Blackboard will create.
  7. Click the Submit button.

Self Enroll group settings

Edit/Delete Self-Enroll Groups

With Edit Mode On

  1. From the control panel, on the bottom left side of the page, click on Users and Groups and then click on Groups.

Accessing Groups from the Control Panel

  1. Click on the double down arrow, or chevron, next to the name of a group and then click on either Edit or Delete.
  2. If you chose to edit the group, fill out the options and then click on Submit to save your changes.
  3. If you chose to delete the group, simply click OK.

Deleting a self enroll group

Return to top