Create Manual Enroll (no sign-up sheet)

 

Creating Groups by manual enroll allows the instructor to pick and choose how the groups will be broken up. There is no sign-up sheet, the instructor will manually choose each student for the groups.

Creating Manual Enroll Groups

With Edit Mode On

  1. From the control panel, on the bottom left side of the page, click on Users and Groups and then click on Groups.

Accessing Groups

  1. Hover over either Create Single Group or Create Group Set and then click on Manual Enroll.

Selecting manual enroll

  1. Type in a name and description for the group.
  2. Choose to make the group unavailable or available. No makes the group unavailable in case the instructor still needs to set some options before the students can see the groups. Yes make the groups available for the students to use.
  3. Select any tools that you want the groups to have.
  4. Select if you want to grant students control of how the group page looks.
  5. If you are creating a single group, please continue on with the steps. If you are creating a group set, skip steps 8 – 9 and proceed onto step 10.
  6. This is where the instructor selects the students in each group. Click on a student from the list on the left and then click on the right arrow to move the student's name over to the right list. Only those in the right list will be enrolled in the group.
  7. Once you are done, click the Submit button (Single Group is now complete).
  8. For Group Set, type in the number of groups that you would like Blackboard to create.
  9. Click the Submit button.
  10. Set the filter options that you would like.
  11. Depending on how many groups were created, you will have 1 or more group set enrollments to do. Click on a student from the list on the left and then click on the right arrow to move the student's name over to the right list. Only those in the right list will be enrolled in the group.
  12. Click the Submit button (Group Set is now complete).

Manual enroll group settings

Edit/Delete Manual Enroll Groups

With Edit Mode On

  1. From the control panel, on the bottom left side of the page, click on Users and Groups and then click on Groups.

Accessing Groups

  1. Click on the double down arrow, or chevron, next to the name of a group and then click on either Edit or Delete.

Edit or Delete a group

  1. If you chose to edit the group, fill out the options and then click on Submit to save your changes.
  2. If you chose to delete the group, simply click OK.

Deleting a group

Return to top